Last night I got to experience my first Russian ballet in Russia!  My first experience with Russian Ballet was in Nuevo Laredo, Mexico when the Moscow Ballet was in town.  I remember it being absolutely wonderful.  After running around Russia attempting to find something to wear to the theatre because as always I am unprepared, I was so ready to arrive and watch the ballet with my new dress and tights in tow.  This ballet at the Aleksandriinsky Theatre was a contemporary ballet about Tchaikovsky’s life.  The main characters in the ballet were Tchaikovsky, his soul, his sponsor, his wife, and characters from his ballets.  The scenery was simple, nothing to take away from the amazing dancing on stage.  It was truly a beautiful spectacle.  As a former ballerina (really just a little uncoordinated girl in a tutu), I had such a respect for the dancers on stage.  Everything was so exciting and beautifully put together.  Today I bought tickets to go to Swan Lake at the world renowned Mariinsky Theatre!  I cannot wait!!! 

 

Here are some photos of the theatre!

Image

Image

Image

 

